NGI's Board of Directors

The NGI foundation is led by a Board of directors and NGI's Managing director.

Published 03.02.2024 , last updated 09.04.2024

NGI's Board of Directors 2024 - Top row from left: Christen Krogh, Ivar Arne Børset, Elisabeth Heggelund Tørstad, Svein Hov Skjelle, Kari Nygaard and Mona Skaret. Second row from left: Regula Frauenfelder, Håkon Heyerdahl, Magnus Rømoen, Einar Aassved Hansen and Elin Skurtveit.

According to NGI’s statutes, the Board shall have a minimum of four and a maximum of six members who NGI does not employ. They are elected for three calendar years at a time with the possibility of re-election for one period. The Board is NGI's highest body, and the Board itself appoints new external members when former members resign from the Board.

External Board members should preferably have a background in:

  • consulting engineering
  • construction or industry
  • scientific higher education or other technical public sectors
  • business practice in the fields of administration, finance, or law

The legislation regulates employees' right to Board representation at any time. The election period for employee members is two years, with the possibility of re-election.

The Board can choose an observer with a relevant background for two years at a time, with the possibility of re-election. The NTNU (Norwegian University of Science and Technology) research group on geotechnical engineering has had an observer on the NGI Board ever since the early 1960s when NGI’s lab and office in Trondheim became the NTH (former name of NTNU) Institute for Geotechnics. NGI opened a new branch office in Trondheim in 2002.

NGI Board members 2024

Presented according to position on the top picture, from top left:

  • Chair, Christen Krogh, Rector Dr. Philos, OsloMET
  • Board member Ivar Arne Børset, SVP Operations and Maintenance Management, Statkraft AS
  • Board member Elisabeth Heggelund Tørstad, Independent consultant
  • Board member Svein Hov Skjelle, Managing Director, Anker Foundation
  • Board member Kari Nygaard, Independent consultant
  • Board member Mona Skaret, Development Division Director, The Norwegian Tax Administration
  • Elected by NGI employees, Regula Frauenfelder, Expert Adviser, NGI
  • Elected by NGI employees, Håkon Heyerdahl, Head of Section, NGI
  • Elected by NGI employees, Magnus Rømoen, BIM Strategist, NGI
  • Observer, Vikas Thakur, Professor, Head of Department - Civil and Environmental Engineering, NTNU
  • Elected deputy member by NGI employees, Elin Skurtveit, Senior Specialist, NGI
Portrait of Lars Andresen

Lars Andresen

Managing Director Administration staff
+47 922 99 863
Portrait of Øydis Ulrikke Castberg

Øydis Ulrikke Castberg

Head of Communication Communication and recruitment
+47 948 03 152